William Congreve


William Congreve was born near Leeds, the son of an army officer who migrated to Ireland when the poet was five. Congreve studied with Jonathan Swift at Kilkenny School and Trinity College Dublin (M.A. 1696); he later attended the Middle Temple (1690), published a novel, Incognita (1692), and had a brief but brilliant career as a dramatist, poet, and critic before setting up as a gentleman and holding a variety of government positions.


1695The Mourning Muse of Alexis. A Pastoral.
1703The Tears of Amaryllis for Amyntas. A Pastoral.
1706A Discourse on the Pindarique Ode.
1706A Pindarique Ode, humbly offer'd to the Queen.


Incognita, or love and duty reconcil'd: a novel. 1692.
The old batchelour. 1693.
The double dealer. 1694.
The mourning Muse of Alexis: a pastoral, lamenting the death of Queen Mary. 1695.
A Pindarique ode, humbly offer'd to the King on his taking Namure. 1695.
Love for love. 1695.
The mourning bride. 1697.
The birth of the Muse: a poem. 1698.
Amendments of Mr. Collier's false and imperfect citations. 1698.
The way of the world. 1700.
The judgement of Paris. 1701.
A hymn to harmony. 1703.
The tears of Amaryllis for Amyntas: a pastoral. 1703.
A Pindarique ode on the victorious progress of her Majesties arms. 1706.
Works. 3 vols, 1710.
The dramatic works of John Dryden. Ed. Congreve, 6 vols. 1717.
An impossible thing: a tale. 1720.
A letter from Mr. Congreve to the Viscount Cobham. 1729.
Mr. Congreve's last will and testament. 1729.
Works, ed. Leigh Hunt. 3 vols, 1849.
Works, ed Montague Summers. 4 vols, 1923.