Oliver Goldsmith

(1730 ca.-1774)

Oliver Goldsmith was born near Ballymahon, Ireland and educated at several grammar schools before entering Trinity College Dublin as a sizar (B.A. 1750); he studied medicine in Edinburgh (1752-53). Goldsmith traveled on the Continent before settling in London (1756); failing to establish a medical practice, he taught school and wrote for the Monthly Review (1757-58); in 1759 he edited The Bee before gaining a high reputation as a poet, playwright, and novelist shortly before his death.


1767The Beauties of English Poesy: The School-Mistress.
1770The Deserted Village, a Poem.


J. Marteilhe, Memoirs of a Protestant [trans. Goldsmith]. 2 vols, 1758.
The bee. 1759.
The present state of polite learning in Europe. 1759.
The citizen of the world. 2 vols, 1762.
The life of Richard Nash of Bath. 1762.
The mystery revealed. 1762.
Plutarch's Lives [trans. Goldsmith]. 4 vols, 1762.
The history of England in a series of letters. 2 vols, 1764.
The history of the Martyrs and primitive fathers of the church. 1764.
Essays. 1765, 1766.
M. Formey, A concise history of philosophy [trans. Goldsmith]. 1766.
The traveller; or, a prospect of society. 1764.
The vicar of Wakefield. 1766.
The beauties of English poetry [ed. Goldsmith]. 2 vols, 1767.
Poems for young ladies. 1767.
The good-natured man. 1768.
The present state of the British empire. 1768.
The Roman history. 2 vols, 1769.
The deserted village. 1770.
The life of Henry St. John, Lord Viscount Bolingbroke. 1770.
The life of Thomas Parnell. 1770.
The history of England, from the earliest times to the death of George II. 4 vols, 1771.
Threnodia Augustalis. 1772.
She stoops to conquer. 1773.
The Grecian history. 2 vols, 1774.
An history of the Earth and animated nature. 8 vols, 1774.
Retaliation. 1774.
The comic romance of Scarron [trans. Goldsmith]. 2 vols, 1775.
The haunch of venison: a poetical epistle. 1776.
A survey of experimental philosophy. 2 vols, 1776.
The Poetical Works of Goldsmith, Collins, and T. Warton, ed. G. Gilfillan. 1854.
The grumbler, ed. Alice I. P. Wood. 1931.
Collected letters, ed. Katherine C. Balderson. 1928.
Collected works, ed. Arthur Friedman. 5 vols, 1966.