Sir William Jones


Sir William ("Oriental") Jones was born in London and educated at Harrow (1761) and University College Oxford (Fellow 1766, B.A. 1768, M.A. 1773); he traveled on the continent (1766-67) and studied at the Middle Temple (1774). Equally notable as a lawyer and orientalist, Jones became a member of Johnson's Literary Club in 1773. He published a once-popular book of verse and translated several works from the Persian. Jones worked as a commissioner of bankrupts (1776), practiced law in London, and was a judge of the High Court in Calcutta from 1783 to his death in 1794.


1762Arcadia, a Pastoral Poem.
1767The Seven Fountains, an Eastern Allegory, written in the Year 1767.
1768Solima, an Arabian Eclogue, written in the Year 1768.
1769The Palace of Fortune, an Indian Tale, written in the Year 1769.
1774 ca.[Untitled, "Fair Tivy, how sweet are thy waves."]


A grammar of the Persian language. 1771.
The history of the Nader Shah. 1770.
Poems, consisting chiefly of translations from the Asiatic languages, to which are added two essays. 1772.
An oration intended to have been spoken at Oxford. 1773.
Poeseos asiaticae commemtariorum libri sex. 1774.
The speeches of Isaeus concerning property [trans.] 1779.
An inquiry into the legal mode of suppressing riots. 1780.
Julii Melesigoni ad libertatum. 1780.
Letters from a tutor to his pupils. 1780.
A speech on the nomination of candidates to represent Middlesex. 1780.
An essay on the law of bailments. 1781.
The Muse recalled: an ode. 1781.
The Moullakat: or seven Arabian poems. 1782.
The Mahomedan law of succession [trans.] 1782.
An ode on imitation of Alcaeus. 1782.
The principles of government, in a dialogue. 1782.
A letter to a patriot senator. 1783.
Sacontala, or the fatal ring: an Indian drama [trans.] 1789.
Al Sirajiyyah: or the Mohammedan law of inheritance. [trans.] 1792.
An ode: what constitutes a state? 1796.
Institutes of Hindu law [trans]. 1796.
Works. 6 vols, 1799.
Works. 13 vols, 1807.
Correspondence, ed. G. H. Cannon. 2 vols, 1970.
Sir William Jones, a reader, ed. Satya S. Pachorie, 1993.